Playful Learning: Engaging Summer and After-School Programs for Parks and Rec

Webinar: Wednesday, January 26 at 3 p.m. CT
(1 p.m. PT | 2 p.m. MT | 4 p.m. ET)

Register Now

Are you looking for more creative ways to improve your youth programs and sneak in a lot of learning as well? With LEGO™ Education STEAM Park (think theme park), young students (K-2) can learn about science, math, and SEL. Students in Grades 3-5 and 6-8 can focus on physical science through sports.

If you are interested in computer science skills (requiring a device), LEGO Education offers camps and afterschool activities for elementary and middle school students. LEGO Education camps are written for four days a week, six hours a day, for one or two weeks with students working with a partner but are easily adapted to fit with your program. In addition, LEGO Education offers Professional Development, so everyone is ready to deliver a great experience to the kids.

Join Betty Justus, LEGO Solution Engineer and Education Consultant, to see how you can bring this fun and engaging learning opportunity to kids and parents in your community. You will enjoy some hands-on activities to get you thinking about what you can do and see how you can fully engage the students’ hands and minds.

Not available on January 26? Register to receive a recording of the presentation. 

About our Guest:

Betty Justus has been a Solution Engineer and Education Consultant with LEGO Education for more than 20 years providing insights for implementation and professional development to the K-12 education community.

Prior to entering the business world, she taught secondary Mathematics and served as a Secondary Mathematics Coordinator in Austin ISD for over eight years.

Betty received an M.S. in Mathematics and Computer Science from the University of Texas at Austin and an M.B.A from Southern Methodist University in Dallas.

Brian Stapleton2

 

Your Host: Brian Stapleton

As the product manager and subject matter expert for CivicRec, Brian is primarily responsible for ensuring our parks and recreation clients are fully leveraging all the flexible features and modern functionality offered by our local government recreation management software. Brian stays immersed in the trends and technologies impacting parks and recreation departments so that he can serve as a critical link between the CivicRec product development and service delivery teams to ensure our product continues to evolve as the needs of local government evolve. Brian earned a Master of Business Administration degree in Management from Western International University.